What can Google do for you???

I have a confession to make…I love Google!  It’s my go-to search engine, and not a day goes by that I don’t use it at least once.  I’m always finding new things that I can do with it (sort of like with Photoshop) and thought I’d share some of my discoveries with you.   You probably know some of these, but you might pick up one or two cool tips (and please feel free to share any different ones that you use)!

 Did you know….

          To check the weather in a certain city, just type in the word “weather” (leave a space) and then enter the location name/state.  Ex: weather Walnut Creek Ca.

          You can find a street map by just typing the street address and the zip.

          To find  movies that are playing in your area just enter the word “movies”.

          If you want to check on the status of a US flight, simply enter the name of the airline and the flight number.

          To see about airport delays/weather just key in the 3 letter airport code (ex: BWI or LAX).

          If you’re into high finance and want to see what a certain stock is at, type in the stock symbol (ex. DIS for Disney).

          You can also search by number for patents, FedX, UPS or even UPC codes.

I’m afraid that most of these are only applicable to US cities (apologies to my overseas friends), but you could use them to check on the weather in Chicago and then to see if there are any flight delays.  Then, you could use the map feature to find where the movie theatre is…

         

9 Responses to “What can Google do for you???”

  1. Kari Holt Says:

    Google is quite the powerful universe, isn’t it?! I always turn to it when I need to find something or need info … I’ll have to try out some of your great tips! I know my husband would love the stock market tip 🙂

  2. Lindsan Says:

    Uh, yeah, Google queen here. Peole laugh at me at work because I can awlays find things noone else can. I think they are a little envious as well though. 😀

  3. dewnie Says:

    i even google myself….lol…you are tooo funny…

  4. Jackie Says:

    Google is great huh? didn’t know some of the things that you have found tho 🙂

  5. Angela2932 Says:

    AND, included in the whole GoogleEmpire are (is?) the igoogle homepage and the google reader and gmail! With the igoogle homepage, I have it personalized to track my son’s facebook, and can keep track of his deployments as he updates; my google reader pulls up all the updates on my buddies’ blogs, I get cool quotes of the day (including from the daily show). Then there’s gmail, where you can archive all your stuff and then use the search function on your e-mail when you’re trying to remember what exactly was the name of that hotel you booked????? AND you can chat through it! And notice the comings and goings of when your kids are on-line. Oh, it goes on and on! And then there are the google widgets! Check out my sunrise/sunset widget on my blog! (oh yeah, and blogger is part of the GoogleEmpire!

  6. Donna S Says:

    I love google too.. but now I feel like a google pro – you gave some great tips!! I love your blog!

  7. LivE Says:

    Google ROCKS! 😀 Do you realize that it’s been one month exactly since your last tag? Well, we need to fix that, don’t we? mwahahaha. I’ve tagged you, darling: hop on over to my blog and don’t bring any weapons when you do. LOL!

  8. Deb P. Says:

    Love Google too! It’s my lifeline many times over.

    I just tagged you too but this is “a different kind of tag,” than Liv’s. I think you might like it. Please visit my blog to check it out.

    Love ya!

  9. Veevs Says:

    Yep, Im addicted to google too! I use it for everything!! Even finding tons of digiscrapping tutorials!!

Leave a Reply

