I’m feeling blue….

…Blue Grotto, that is! That’s the name of our new mini-kit freebie. It’s actually a “reject” from the LDD Apprentice Program. I’m thrilled to say that my dear friend Liv was accepted, and if you look at her amazing Adventure kit you will see why! I can honestly say that I understand why we didn’t make it in, after viewing the 40 first round winners.   I like our papers, but the elements aren’t very inspired or creative.  It was a good learning experience and I hope that we can continue to grow and evolve in our designing.  If you would like to download our papers (and somewhat boring elements)  just click on the 4shared link below the preview!

I’m also feeling “blue” because I took the Color Sense Game (sponsored by Porter Paints) and it seems as if I am a “water bead”.  It’s a seven question on-line quiz that you take to determine your color preferences.  They had a link to this quiz on the Memory-Makers website.  It only takes a minute or two to play and it’s really fun…let me know what color you come out to be! 

Another reason to feel “blue” is if you stop to think about the enormity of world hunger.  The good news is there is an educational & interactive website that helps fight hunger by donating rice to millions of needy people.  The website is called FreeRice.com and it is the brainchild of a computer programmer named John Breen (gotta love those computer geeks)!   It is an on-line vocabulary quiz, and for each word that you get correct, 20 grains of rice are donated through the UN World Food Program.   All you do is just click on the answer that you think best describes the word…it’s as easy as that!  To date over 20 billion grains of rice have been donated (that’s enough to feed almost a million people for a day).  So check the website out…gain some word knowledge…and help others in the process!    

preview.jpg

http://www.4shared.com/dir/5890730/8104a07e/Blue_Grotto.html

8 Responses to “I’m feeling blue….”

  1. dewnie Says:

    yeaaaaaaaaa!!! Blue is my color…this is great!!! thanks big time!

  2. Nancy O Says:

    I love blue too. Your designs are my favorite and the colors are always beautiful. Thanks for putting this together for us.

  3. Ann Says:

    I really like this kit and don’t know why it was rejected. I like clean, simple and elegant papers and elements. I will use this so thank you for it.

  4. hedderlee Says:

    Hey Dawn,

    I’m a water bead too!

    Once I make a LO with your kit, I’ll send it to you. I’ll be on your CT! 🙂 Tell Taylor that I say thanks.

  5. Carol Dillon Says:

    The blue kit is great and I have always thought blue was my favourite colour until I did the colour sense game. I am a leather, wood, stone girl! Which is amazing, as I looked through the colour scheme and they are the colours of the walls of my house. Carol

  6. Tori Says:

    Oh, I am going to have to go and take this quiz. I love red, so wonder if I am one. 😉 But I love blue, and I love your kit! You are doing awesome with your designing! Can’t wait to see more of you and our gang when DID starts! Yeah!

  7. Ljonezy Says:

    Just stopping by to see how you are. Haven’t heard from you in a while and wanted to make sure all was well and i’m thinking about you.

  8. Kari Holt Says:

    I think you and Taylor did a fantastic job on this!! Congrats for taking the risk and putting yourselves out there … I’m so proud of what you are both accomplishing 🙂

Leave a Reply

